

Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University

"A State University established by the Govt. of NCT of Delhi" University School of Medicine and Paramedical Health Sciences



The Guiding Lights (USM & PMHS)

The School is guided by a board of brilliant key thought leaders, who bring their vision, imagination and multidisciplinary expertise to carve the current and prospective academic path. Each member of the Board of studies carries a huge experience behind them, reflects a hugely positive stance and is a staunch protagonist of avant-garde approach. They belong to different fields and are primum inter pares of their disciplines.



Prof. (Dr.) Abhijat Sheth Eminent cardiovascular surgeon, President, National Board of Examinations of Medical Sciences and Medical Director, Apollo Hospitals, Ahmedabad. A tall academic and researcher, his papers have been published in several high-impact journals and he has presented his works before the British Thoracic Society, European Respiratory Society and American Thoracic Society. Since 2019, he is the UNESCO chair writs of appointment in the bioethics national program. He is also a governing board member of NABH since April 2019. Since 2021, he is a Professor Emeritus (IMA).



Prof. (Dr.) Yogendra Singh Rockefeller Fellow and Dean, Research, Life sciences, University of Delhi, Delhi J.C. Bose national Fellow; J.C. Bose National Fellow; President, Association of Microbiologists of India; Dean, Research, Life Sciences, University of Delhi; Moselio Schaechter Distinguished Service Award, American Society for Microbiology; Fellow, Indian National Science Academy; Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences; Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India; Rockefeller Career Development Award (1994); Research Scientist at National Institutes of Health, USA, 1983-87, 1989-91 and 2008-09.



Prof. (Dr.) Pranav Desai Member, TRCSS, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and Visiting Faculty, King's College, London. Principal Coordinator and Founding Member, Trans-Disciplinary Innovation Research Cluster on Sustainability Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi; Visiting Fellow, Centre for Biomedicine and Society, King's College, London, UK; Member, Scientific Committee, Journal of Innovation and Development, Routledge (Taylor and Francis group); Regional Editor, South Asia World Review of Science, Technology and Sustainable Development.



Prof. (Dr.) Parveen Gulati Eminent radiologist and faculty, among the pioneers of cross-sectional imaging in India; incepted several academic and training programmes for trainee radiology residents and radiology technicians. More than seventy-five research papers, and author and editor of several textbooks on radiology and imaging. Recipient of TP Jhunjhunwala National Excellence Award in Medicine.



Prof. (Dr.) Sanjay Chaturvedi Professor and Head, Department of Community Medicine, University College of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. Poet, thinker, author, editor and policymaker. Chief of Community Medicine, University College of Medical Sciences, Delhi; Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences, Indian Public Health Association and Indian association of Preventive and Social Medicine; technical Expert to WHO on evaluation of WHO Collaborating Centres in SEAR, Community-based Services, and Prevention and Control of Injury and Violence; Member of India expert Advisory Grounds on Polio and Measles-Rubella, IDRC EcoHealth Research Core Group, National AEFI Committee, and Central Coordinating Team of International Clinical Epidemiology Network. WHO Fellow at UCLA and UC Berkley in 1989.



Prof. (Dr.) Sunil Sharma Dean, Indian Spinal Injuries Centre, New Delhi. Former President and CEO Clifford and Emily LLC, USA; Former Assistant Director, Clinical Research, Herichson Biomedics, Friendwood, TX; Former Chief of Public Health Laboratory, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; and formerly with Department of Infectious Diseases, NYU Hospital and Medical Centre, New York, USA and with George Washington University School of Medicine and Health, Washington, DC, USA.



Prof. (Dr.) D.K. Sharma Medical Superintendent, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi; Member of the Expert Committee, Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana; Fellow, International Medical Sciences Academy; Academy of Hospital Administration; Indian Hospital Association; and Indian Society of Health Administrators.



Prof. (Dr.) Renuka Sharma Director-Professor, Department of Physiology, Vardhman Mahavir Medical College and Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi. Physiologist, academic, researcher, teacher and mentor. Pan-India Resource Faculty for International Union of Physiological Sciences; Content Reviewer UGC e-Pathshala project for Postgraduate students in collaboration with Departments of Physiology and Biochemistry, AIIMS, New Delhi. Advisor to Indian Council of Medical Research, Union Public Service Commission and several other public bodies.



Dr. Rajeev Aggarwal Head of Neuro-Physiotherapy Unit, Neurosciences Centre, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. More than two decades of active contribution to clinical, academic and research fields. Author of twenty-six research papers, several chapters in leading books, and devised National Physiotherapy Guidelines for Stroke management for the Govt. of India. Recipient of CP Nair Oration, Golden Jubilee Award, Young Scientist Award. Chief Editor of Journal of IAP and Editor of Journal of Society of Indian Physiotherapists. Member of Interim Commission for Allied and Healthcare Professions, Ministry of Health and Family welfare, Government of India.



Prof. (Dr.) Mahesh Vyas Dean and Head, Samhita and Siddhant Department, All India Insitute of Ayurveda, Delhi. More than 171 research papers published high impact journals; Member, Working Group on Integrative Medicine, Neeti Ayog; Member, Central Ethical Committee, CCARS; Advisory Board Member of Journal of Ayurveda and Integrated Medical Sciences; Recipient of Dhanwantari Award (Kashi Vidvat Paishad, Varanasi), Excellence Award (Amim Cancer Trust).



Prof. (Dr.) Tulika Tripathi Head, Department of Orthodontics, Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences, New Delhi. Keen academic and researcher, she has more than 125 research papers and has made academic presentations globally. Recipient of Dr. AV Arun Outstanding Professor Award, WHO Fellowship at Tokai University School of Medicine Japan, ICMR International Fellowship for Senior Biomedical Scientists at University of Glasgow, and Delhi State Award by Government of NCT of Delhi.



Dr. Pranav Ish Faculty, Department of Pulmonary Medicine, Vardhman Mahavir Medical College and Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi. Keen researcher, has 230 publications in high-impact journals; his key areas of research incldue sleep medicine and intensive care. Member of medical education unit and multidisciplinary research unit of Vardhman Mahavir Medical College



Prof. (Dr.) Yatish Agarwal Chair of the Board of Studies; Chief of Radiology at Vardhman Mahavir Medical College and Safdarjung Hospital; author, poet, thinker, editor, academic, researcher, mentor and health science communicator; fifty books, hundreds of articles, and health columns in national dailies and periodicals; WHO Fellow, Institute for Population and Social Research, Mahidol University, Thailand (2005); Fellow, Foundation for Detection of Early Gastric Carcinoma, Tokya, Japan (1998); Recipient of a number of national awards, including President's Atmaram Award, National Science and Technology Award, Meghnad Saha Award, Prime Minister's Shiksha Award, Litterateur Award (Hindi Akademi), Ministry of Home Affairs' Indira Gandhi National Award and Rajiv Gandhi National Award, Centenary Award, Vigyan Parishad, Allahabad and Vigyan Bhushan.